Peer-Review for Practice Research

Welcome to Screenworks – the peer-reviewed online publication of practice research in film and screen media, edited by Dr Charlotte Crofts (UWE Bristol) and Associate Editors: Will DiGravio (University of Amsterdam); Dr. Shweta Ghosh (University of Reading); Dr. Catherine Gough-Brady (Edith Cowan University); Dr Matthew Hawkins (London Southbank University); Dr Alexander Nevill (University of Edinburgh); Dr Estrella Sendra Fernandez (King’s College London). Screenworks publishes practice research that produces new knowledge in Communication, Media and Cultural Studies, Art and Design, Performing Arts and related fields. We offer a forum for the dissemination and discussion of practice research that includes space for reflection on research contexts. Work is published alongside a research statement, which offers a ‘route map’ of the research process, together with two anonymous reviews, which provide critical feedback on both the work itself and its research context.

We accept submissions on a rolling basis as well as for Special Issues. Please see the Submissions page for further information about current calls, deadlines, the peer review process and how to submit your work. Please be aware of our Accessibility Policy, which applies to Vol 12 onwards. Go to our Archive to explore previous volumes, including the full supporting research statements and peer reviews for each volume. If you are interested in proposing a Special Issue then please see our Special Issues Policy.

What is unique about Screenworks is that the work is subject to academic peer review, just as an academic journal article would be, thus providing evidence of the impact, significance, originality and rigour of the practice as research. In addition we operate an open single blind review policy, where anonymous peer reviews are published alongside the research statement so that the review process is transparent. Our intention is to create a supportive, yet rigorous research environment for the academic community researching screen media through practice, whilst at the same time engaging with wider audiences. You can read more about Screenworks‘ evolving editorial approach in Crofts and Nevill (2018).

Screenworks was originally convened in 2006 by Professor Jon Dovey, and Associate editor, Dr Charlotte Crofts, and took the form of a DVD that was distributed with the Journal of Media Practice (JMP) by Intellect Books. Volume 1 was published with JMP (8:2) in Autumn 2007, and Volume 2 with JMP (9:3) in December 2008. Extracts of the works in Volumes 1 & 2 were published online, where possible, when the website was relaunched under the banner of JMPScreenworks.com at the JMP Symposium 2011.

Screenworks migrated to the present website in 2016. We now publish exclusively online in order to disseminate work more widely, save costs and to fulfil the current AHRC and REF research agendas of open access, impact and public engagement. We hope that this new home will enable Screenworks to continue to flourish and grow as both an online publisher of academic film and as a forum for championing screen media practice research with in the academy.


Charlotte Crofts & Alexander Nevill (2018) Publishing screen media practice research: evolving processes of contextualisation, peer review and future proofing in Screenworks, Media Practice and Education, 19:3, 283-297, DOI: 10.1080/25741136.2018.1529478.

Academic Reviewers

John Adams University of Bristol
Laura Ager University of Salford
Judith Aston University of the West of England
Sarah Atkinson King’s College London
Sarah Barrow University of Lincoln
Des Bell Queens Belfast
Paola Bilbrough Victoria University in Melbourne
Kornelia Boczkowska Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznam
Elena Boschi Edge Hill University
Mick Broderick Murdoch University
Christopher Brown University of Sussex
Jeremy Bubb University of Roehampton, London
Inga Burrows University of Glamorgan
Joanna Callaghan University of Sussex
Neil Carrier University of Bristol
David Chapman University of East London
Mark Chapman Northumbria University
Steve Choe San Francisco State University
Alastair Cole Newcastle University
Nick Cope University Of Sunderland
Patrick Crogan University of the West of England
Jill Daniels University of East London
Katie Davies University of West England
Andrew Dewdney London South Bank University
Karel Doing University of the Arts London
Jonathan Dovey University of the West of England
Tony Dowmunt Goldsmiths College
Ludovica Fales University of West London
Bettina Frankham University of Technology Sydney
Annie Goldson University of Auckland
Amy Hardie University of Edinburgh
Wendy Haslem University of Melbourne
Matthew Hawkins London South Bank University
Jimmy Hay Bristol University
Robert Herrema Michigan State University
Coral Houtman University of South Wales
Dina Iordanova University of St. Andrews
Valentina Ippolito Kingston University
Andrew James Plymouth College of Art
Itandehui Jansen University of Edinburgh
Owain Jones Bath Spa University
Aaron Kerner University of Edinburgh
Lina Khatib Royal Holloway University
Erik Knudsen University of Salford
Adam Laity University of the West of England
Nicholas Lambert Ravensbourne
Rik Lander University of the West of England
Gillian Leahy University of Technology Sydney
Lucy Leake Plymouth College of Art
Alisa Lebow Brunel University
Dominic Lees University for the Creative Arts
Claire Levy Bath Spa University
Sasha Litvintseva Goldsmiths
Ramon Lobata RMIT University
Matthew Lovett University of Gloucestershire
Nariman Massoumi Bristol University
Kenta McGrath Curtin University
Cahal Mclaughlin Queens University, Belfast
Joshua McNamara University of Melbourne
Smriti Mehra Srishti School of Art, Design and Technology
Chris Meigh-Andrews University of Central Lancashire
Katherine Morrissey San Francisco State University
Heidi Morstang University of Plymouth
Steven Paige Plymouth College of Art
Kayla Parker
University of Plymouth
Gail Pearce Royal Holloway University
Angela Piccini Bournemouth University
Matti Pohjonen VOX-Pol Network of Excellence
Steve Presence University of the West of England
Khazim Rahman Plymouth College of Art
Elizabeth Ramirez-Soto San Francisco State University
Michael Renov University of Southern California
Randy Rustky San Francisco State University
Claudia Sandberg University of Melbourne
Jeff Scheible Kings College London
John Sealey Fabian’s Film
Dafydd Sills-Jones Auckland University of Technology
Jen Stein University of the West of England
Suzanne Stich University of Ulster
Sue Sudbury University of Bournemouth
Patrick Tarrant London South Bank University
Joram Ten Brink University of Westminster
Lizzie Thynne University of Sussex
Romana Turina Curtin University
Sarah Turner University of Kent
Michael  Uwemedimo Roehampton University
Frank Verano University of Sussex
Mike Wayne Brunel University
Anna Zaluczkowska Leeds Beckett University
Esther Pérez Nieto Complutense University of Madrid
Joanna Zylinska Goldsmiths

We are very keen to expand our pool of academic reviewers, particularly in terms of international scope, so if you would be interested in getting involved then please email with “Screenworks Reviewer” in the subject line, outlining your area of interest / expertise and your institutional affiliation.

Supported by the Moving Image Research Group and the Digital Cultures Research Centre at the University of the West of England, UWE Bristol.


Go to top